What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.
Please check the Affiliate Disclaimer for more information.

Do you wonder what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp? Stay tuned as we’ll get into that and a lot more in this article.

WhatsApp is the most used messaging app with more than 2 billion users worldwide and rising. A lot of people use it on their phones as their primary way to contact others. It runs on Android and iOS mobile devices and you can also access it from your computer.

There is a convenient web version of the messenger that you can use on your PC as long as your phone remains connected to the network while you’re using the app. Although you can only use it on one computer at a time – along with your phone.

It offers a lot of features to allow you to control your privacy more effectively. One of those being the capability of blocking other contacts.

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp?

WhatsApp works in a way that allows anybody who has your phone number and is registered on the app, to easily pick your profile and start chatting with you.

This may bring some inconvenience. You may be getting text messages, voice clips, or even calls from numbers you don’t know, or even being disturbed by anyone you do know but you’re not willing to have any kind of conversation. Blocking a contact is the easiest way to get rid of that harassment.

When you block someone, the contact won’t get any obvious notification that has been blocked. Although there are some clues. The blocked contact will get single grey ticks with every message sent, getting a sign that it is yet to be delivered.

The blocked person can still see you in the contacts, and can even open the conversation box and send you messages. Although, those messages won’t ever be delivered to you. I the same way, if you send a message to a blocked person, it won’t ever be delivered.

If I block someone on WhatsApp can they see when I’m online?

No. When you block someone, that contact won’t be able to check your “Last seen” status or even know if you’re currently online. Your WhatsApp online status won’t be shown.

Read below in the article to get more clues a contact will get when is blocked.

How to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp

There are a few clues that may indicate someone has blocked you on WhatsApp.

Profile photo

This is, perhaps, the easiest way to identify it. When someone blocks you, you’ll no longer be able to see the contact’s profile picture. It will disappear.

Unless the suspicious person removed the profile picture completely, which is not that common, you have been blocked!

Messages

Once you’re blocked, your messages won’t ever be sent to the recipient. If, after every message, there is only one checkmark showing instead of the two ticks marking the message has been delivered, it is an indication that the suspicious contact’s phone is not connected to a network, or that you have been blocked.

Adding a contact to a group

If someone has blocked you on, you won’t be able to add that contact onto any of your groups. This is, again, a very clear indicator that you’ve been blocked.

Call the contact

If you attempt to call through WhatsApp a contact that has blocked you, the voice or video call will not go through.

How to block someone on WhatsApp?

Blocking someone is a fairly straightforward procedure. However, it is slightly different in Android and iOS. Follow the steps below to know how to do it properly on your device’s operating system.

Android

  • Open the WhatsApp app on your mobile device;
  • Tap the three vertical dots in the top right-hand of the screen;

  • Access “More options”,  and then, tap “Settings”;

  • From the “Settings” menu, select “Account”;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

  • Under “Account” select “Privacy,” and then “Blocked contacts”;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp  What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

  • On the top right-hand corner tap the “Add” icon and chose the contact you want to block.

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp  What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

iOS

  • Open the WhatsApp app on your iPhone;
  • Go to settings by tapping the “Settings” icon in the bottom right-hand corner;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

  • Under “Settings”, tap “Account”;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

  • From the “Account” menu, go to “Privacy” and then “Blocked”;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp  What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

  • In the “Blocked” menu, tap “Add New…” and search for the contact you want to be blocked;

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

How to block WhatsApp group

Unfortunately, you cannot block a group the same way as a contact. The better method to silence a group without leaving it is to mute the group by turning off the notifications.

You can also restrict your contacts from adding you to groups without your consent.

Wrap Up

Having the ability to block contacts is very useful to avoid unpleasant situations. It is the best way to get rid of the harassment of someone who is always sending you unwanted messages, voice clips, or calls.

Although there isn’t a clear message when someone gets blocked, there are some strong and easily understandable clues that were described above in this article. We hope it was useful!